Privacy Policy Contact OAR

2020 Lifetime Achievement Recipient — Gloria C. Higgins, PhD, MD

Latest Recipient

2020 Lifetime Achievement Recipient — Gloria C. Higgins, PhD, MD

posted: July 20, 2020

Gloria C. Higgins, PhD, MD is a pediatric rheumatologist and educator in Columbus, Ohio. With nearly 40 years of experience, Dr. Higgins holds the title of Professor Emeritus at The Ohio State University College of Medicine. She most recently served as Professor of Clinical Pediatrics from 2011-2015 and also served on the medical staff at the Nationwide Children’s Hospital from 1999 – 2015.

Among many honors, Dr. Higgins is a proud holder of the James T. Cassidy Award from the American Academy of Pediatrics. This award recognizes her outstanding achievements as an educator and her contributions to the field of pediatric rheumatology.

Dr. Higgins received her PhD in biochemistry from West Virginia University. She went on to receive her MD from Albert Einstein College of Medicine, after which she completed her pediatric residency at the Children’s National Medical Center and her rheumatology fellowship at the University of Tennessee.

After ten years as an educator at the University of Tennessee, Dr. Higgins started at The Ohio State University as an Associate Professor of Pediatrics in 1999 before becoming Professor of Clinical Pediatrics in 2011. Throughout her career, she has inspired and trained her pediatric and adult fellows to pursue their own rheumatology careers.

Dr. Higgins is Board-Certified in Pediatrics and Pediatric Rheumatology from the American Board of Pediatrics. She is a proud member of the CARRA Ethics Committee and keeps busy as a writer/editor for AAP PREP Rheumatology.