Privacy Policy Contact OAR Sign In

News & Advocacy

OU College of Osteopathic Medicine Names Preceptor of the Year

posted: May 17, 2013

LANCASTER — Dr. Stephanie Ott, a rheumatologist with Fairfield Medical Center and an instructor at the Ohio UniversityHeritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, was recently chosen by her students as one of the college’s Preceptors of the Year.

The Preceptor of the Year Award is one of the college’s Distinguished Osteopathic Commitment awards. The awards are selected by a committee of first- and second-year students. This is the second time Ott has received the award.

Award winners were honored at the award banquet that took place April 24 in Baker Center on the Ohio University campus. The event was complete with dinner and a presentation of all award winners.

Ott has been a clinical instructor with the college of osteopathic medicine for six years. In 2012, she was promoted to a clinical associate professor. She has been with FMC since July 2007. In May 2001, she completed her Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of New Mexico and went on to complete her Internal Medicine residency at UNM, followed by a fellowship in rheumatology at the Wexner Medical Center at Ohio State University in Columbus. She is board certified in internal medicine and rheumatology and is a certified clinical densitometrist, which means she is certified to read bone density scans.

In addition to her contributions to FMC and OU, Ott has been the president of the Ohio Association of Rheumatology for the past two years. Her appointment to that position made her the first female president within the organization.